Sunday, May 4, 2008


Dr. Jaime Aristotle B. Alip, founding president and chairman of the board of directors of San Pablo City CARD Rural Bank lead this year selection of “The Outstanding San Pableños” chosen to help commemorate the 68th Founding Anniversary of the City of San Pablo. He was chosen for Rural Development Through Microfinancing Category.”
Commonwealth Act No. 520 granting City Charter to then prosperous town of San Pablo was approved by President Manuel Luis Quezon on May 7, 1940, and formally inaugurated its city government on January 2, 1941 with Interior Secretary Rafael Alunan inducting the first set of city officials led by former Laguna Governor Potenciano Malvar as appointed City Mayor.

In the announcement made by Dr. Ester C. Lozada, City Schools Superintendent and chairperson of the selection committee created through an executive order issued by Mayor Vicente B. Amante, other awardees who will be formally honored by the community during a formal dinner meeting of city officials with community leaders at the Coco Palace Hotel and Restaurant at Barangay San Francisco this coming Tuesday evening, May 6, 2008, are Dean Palermo A. Bañagale for Accountancy; Plant Propagator Renato A. Belen for Agriculture; CHED Regional Director Amelia A. Biglete for Education; Supreme Court Justice Arturo D. Brion for Government Service; Court of Appeal Justice Rodrigo V. Cosico for Law and Judiciary; Olympic Swimmer Marie-Lizza Toinette Frias Danila for Sports; SPC Chamber of Commerce and Industry President Plaridel G. dela Cruz for Business; Association of Geodetic Engineers of the Philippines President Danilo D. Dichoso for Engineering; Nobel Laureate Rodel D. Lasco for Science and Technology, and Music Professor Ester Alcantara-Locson for Arts and Culture.

It can be recalled that when the City of San Pablo commemorated its 50th Charter Anniversary on May 7, 1990, among “The Outstanding San Pableños (TOSP)” chosen by a award committee chaired by RTC Judge Bienvenido V. Reyes and City Prosecutor Leon M. de Villa were U. E. President Conrado P. Aquino for Education; Dean Bartolome Carale for Law and Legal Education; Retired City Engineer Guillermo P. Inciong for Engineering; Commodore Rogelio A. Dayan for Military Science, Baseball Pitcher Johnny “Lefty” Briones for Sports; Local Civil Registry Office Clerk Felipe Caro for Government Service; and Ruben E. Taningco for Journalism;

When San Pablo celebrated its 53rd Charter Anniversary, on May 7, 1992 and Mayor Vicente B. Amante initiated the Don Tomas D. Dizon Statemanship Award, in honor of the author of Commonwealth Act No. 520, chosen to received the honors was RTC Executive Judge Bienvenido V. Reyes. Merit awards were given to Dr. Juan B. Hernandez for hometown history, Dr. Vidal Raymundo for medical practice; and Lion Eduardo Lim for community services and entrepreneurship. Reyes is the co-chairperson of the 2008 Awards Committee. (RET/7LPC)

No comments: